french open tennis history
Tennis Theme Homepage Tennis Today Upcoming Tennis Tournaments History of Tennis Tennis Equipment Tennis Links Greatest Tennis Moments

History of Tennis

Wimbledon Tennis History

US Open Tennis History

Australian Open Tennis History

Max Decguis
Max Decguis (29)
(8 singles,14doubles,7mixed)

Suzanne Lenglen
Suzanne Lenglen (15)
(6 singles,2 doubles,7 mixed)

Martina Navratilova
Martina Navratilova (11)
(2 singles,7 doubles,2 mixed)

French Open Tennis History - Brief Description

In the 1891 was held the very first French Championship, the very first winner was H.Briggs ( a tennis player competing for British Isles but resident of Paris,France) defeating P. Baigneres in finals with 6-3 6-2. At start it was a closed competition for mens only, and for French residents only. The very first ladies Tournament was introduced at 1897 and Adine Masson was better in finals over P. Girod with 6-3 6-1. After the First World War, French tennis was on the crest of a wave, with Suzanne Lenglen winning six times between 1920 and 1926. French Championships become international in 1925 and in year 1928 the tournament placed to it's present home. The first true French Open tennis tournament was played at the Stade de Roland-Garros in 1925. The tournament still was not open as all the participants were restricted on amateurs only at that time.

Building of French Open Stadium                                                              French Open Tennis History Museum

The men’s French Open winner was Rene Lacoste who beat Jean Borota with 7-5, 6-1, 6-4. Rene Lacoste was nicknamed the "Crocodile", and we see his logo today on Lacoste shirts.In these years French Open tennis was on the rise, and Lacoste along with three other French players( Jacques Brugnon, Jean Borotra and Henri Cochet) who became known as the "Four Musketeers", won Davis Cup in 1928 in Philadelphia. The Men’s French Open trophy is known today as the "Coupe de Mousquetaires" in their honor. It was in the spring of 1928 that two ladies by the name of Miss Bennett of Great Britain and Madame Lafaurie of France had the honour of playing the first match on the centre court of the new Roland Garros stadium- modern home of French open tennis history.Roland Garros was a pioneering aviator and war hero, who was sadly killed in combat only five weeks before the Armistice.

After World War II, France's domination slipped and the Americans and Australians took over, with new young stars such as Australian Ken Rosewall and Maureen Connolly of America. In 1956 the tournament was host to the first African-American Grand Slam winner, the American Althea Gibson.

Legends of the sport took trophy after trophy in the 70's and 80's, with Bjorn Borg winning six titles and Chris Evert with seven titles. The 1980s also announced the return of French, with Yannick Noah getting France's first title for 37 years.In the late 1980s and early 1990s found the develop of the teen stars. Michael Chang won the 1989 Championships at the age of 17. Monica Seles brought her unique screaming style to the tournament in 1990 and won the title with 16 years only.

French Open Tennis History Through The Years

1891 ▪ THE VERY FIRST TOURNAMENT ▪ H. Briggs won the title against P. Baigneres with 6-3 6-2. Briggs was a tennis player competing for British isles but residing in France.

1897 ▪ WOMENS INTRODUCED ▪ The very first Womens Singles champion was Adine Masson defeating in finals P. Girod with 6-3 6-1.

1914 ▪ MAX DECGUIS ▪ In the year of 1914 Max Decguis won his 8th title (last) of Mens Singles French Championship. He won the most titles on French Championship 'till today.

1925 ▪ OPEN FOR ALL COMPETITORS ▪ In the year of 1925 French Championship was open for international competitors. Rene Lacoste was better in finals of Jean Borotra with 7-5 6-1 6-4. That was certainly one of great historical moments of french tennis history.

Rene Lacoste                                                                 Rene Lacoste

1926 ▪ SUZZANE LENGLEN ▪ Won 6th title at French National Championship.

1928 ▪ THE NEW STADE DE ROLAND GARROS HOSTED DAVIS CUP ▪ French Open hosted Davis Cup. The new Stade de Roland Garros finished - modern home of French open tennis history.

1932 ▪ HENRY COCHET ▪ Henry Cochet won his 5th title on French Championships Mens Singles.

1981 ▪ BJORN BORG ▪ Bjorn Borg of Sweden won his 6th title on French Open, that makes him second best of all times on the French Open Championships tennis history.

1986 ▪ CHRIS EVERT ▪ She won 7th title at French Open Womens Singles Championship and became the greatest women all time player at French Open tennis history.

Chris Evert                                                                  Chris Evert

1999 ▪ STEFFI GRAF ▪ Won her 6th title on French Open Womens Singles Championsip and took 2nd place on eternal list of female winners.

2008 ▪ RAFAEL NADAL ▪ In year of 2008 Rafael Nadal of Spain won his 4th consecutive French Open Mens Singles title.

2009 ▪ ROGER FEDERER ▪ For sure one of the greatest player of all time Roger Federer won his 1st title on French Open, defeating Robin Soderling of Sweden in finals with 6-1 7-6 6-4.

Roger Federer
CONTACT                                                                                                   BACK TO TOP
Copyright 2009-2010 by All Rights Reserved.